“(...) the eight circuits of consciousness
form a global, cosmological model created by American psychologist
Timothy Leary. The purpose of this model is to provide a
schema of the types of consciousness that the human soul develops on
its path through life.” (p. 5)

American psychologist Timothy Leary (1920 - 1996) is the “father” of the eight-circuit model of consciousness. He developed it while serving an sentence in prison, from 1973 to 1976. Neurologic and Info-Psychology were written during this time period, and are the first books on the eight circuits (even though there are only seven circuits in Neurologic).

Leary then worked with underground intellectual Robert Anton Wilson (1932 - 2007) to expand his model. Wilson wrote Prometheus Rising, a “classic” , in 1983. Antero Alli (born 1952), Finnish-born performing artist, is the last of the “pionniers of the circuits” to be still alive on Planet Earth today. He wrote Angel Tech and The Eight-Circuit Brain, two groundbreaking works that link Leary's model and shamanism.

Laurent Huguelit's The Shamanic Path to Quantum Consciousness is a translation of the first original book in French about the eight-circuit model: Les Huit Circuits de Conscience: Chamanisme Cybernétique et Pouvoir Créateur. It was originally published in 2012 by Mama Editions (Paris), and then translated by Jack Cain and published in 2013 by Inner Traditions / Bear Company (Vermont - USA).

“Uniting shamanism and the law of attraction with advanced concepts of modern psychology, quantum physics, and the Akashic field theory of Ervin Laszlo, Laurent Huguelit offers a practical map of human consciousness and the development of the soul as well as a vision for the cybernetic future of shamanism.” (back cover)

There are 4 terrestrial circuits:

(1): Root Circuit—Vital Consciousness

(2): Politico-Territorial Circuit—Emotional Consciousness

(3): Intellectual Circuit—Conceptual Consciousness

(4): Socio-Sexual Circuit—Cultural Consciousness

Then comes The Great Leap (transition phase).

And 4 supraterrestrial circuits:

(5): Somatic Circuit—Energy Consciousness

(6): Psychic Circuit—Multidimensional Consciousness

(7): Mystico-Religious Circuit—Universal Consciousness

(8): Creator Circuit—Quantum Consciousness